Minnesota Teacher of the Year nominees include six from Minneapolis

Two Burroughs Community School teachers up for the honor

Six Minneapolis Public Schools teachers are among the 135 nominees up for 2013 Minnesota Teacher of the Year.

On the list released Thursday morning by Education Minnesota were two Burroughs Community School teachers — first-grade teacher Joyce Lasser and third-grade teacher Daniel Kilibarda — as well as Edison High School math teacher Sarah Gregg, Lucy Craft Laney School first-grade teacher Amy Lynn Sinness, Marcy Open School first- and second-grade teacher Nicole Kuhse and Kenny Community School special education teacher Stacy Moreno, an instructor in the school’s autism program.

Any public or private school pre-K–12 instructor with a Minnesota teaching license may be nominated for Minnesota Teacher of the Year. A 25-member selection committee made up of community, business and education leaders will winnow the list of nominees down to a group of semifinalists and then finalists before naming a winner in May.

Only Shakopee Public Schools, with nine nominees, had more teachers up for the 49th-annual Minnesota Teacher of the Year award than Minneapolis. St. Paul Public Schools had five teacher nominated for the award.

The full list of nominees can be found at educationminnesota.org.