Jabbok Family Services finds new home

Volunteers are renovating space at 26th & 1st for fall opening

Credit: Submitted image

Jabbok Family Services, a center for youth in low-income families, is recruiting volunteers to help renovate its new building at 2611 1st Ave. S.

After operating for 16 years at 26th & Blaisdell inside Calvary Baptist Church, the non-denominational center is moving into a more visible space of its own.

“We looked for quite some time to find a space in Whittier,” said Executive Director Kathi Eilers. “We do need more donors, we do need more volunteers, and we do need our own spot.”

Jabbok (a Biblical name evoking a transformative place) was founded to provide childcare to low-income families. The center serves about 40 kids in early childhood and 85 school-age kids.

While middle-income families can afford to enroll their kids in after-school activities, Eilers said, Jabbok works to provide more after-school options for low-income students as well. Jabbok is working closely with schools to track the impact of after-school programs on academic success.

“The whole youth development field is growing and changing, and we’re trying to make a better case for the importance of it,” Eilers said.

Jabbok is aiming to reopen after Labor Day.

Volunteers of all skill levels are welcome to help with jobs ranging from light demolition work to technical carpentry: 

Thursday, July 31, 4:30–8:30 p.m.

Saturday, August 2, 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. and 12:30-4:30 p.m.

Thursday, August 7, 4:30-8:30 p.m.

Saturday, August 9, 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. and 12:30-4:30 p.m.

Thursday, August 14, 4:30-8:30 p.m.

Saturday, August 16, 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. and 12:30-4:30 p.m.

Thursday, August 21, 4:30-8:30 p.m.

Saturday, August 23, 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. and 12:30-4:30 p.m.

Thursday, August 28, 4:30-8:30 p.m.

Saturday, August 30, 8:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. and 12:30-4:30 p.m.