Hodges announces members of transition team

Mayor R.T. Rybak and Mayor-elect Betsy Hodges discussed the transition process in Rybak's office earlier this month. Credit: Photo by Dylan Thomas

Mayor-elect Betsy Hodges announced the formation of her Transition Advisory Committee today — a 27-member group that will provide guidance on her first term.

The committee will be chaired by progressive activist Laura Waterman Wittstock, a KFAI Radio host, author and president and CEO of Wittstock & Associates. Kristin Beckmann and Jeff Blodgett will serve as volunteer transition co-coordinators. 

“I am grateful to these outstanding community leaders for their willingness to advise me as I prepare for my first term as the Mayor of Minneapolis,” Hodges said. “Thanks to their sharing of ideas and energy, the beginning of our effort to shape One Minneapolis will incorporate the hopes and dreams of people in every corner of our city.”

The committee will help Hodges get ready for the first 10 days of her term and make recommendations for the swearing in and inaugural festivities. Hodges’ transition team will also organize a tour through the city’s neighborhoods.

“I want to connect with people all over this city and celebrate what makes this a great place to live,” Hodges said. “The tour is a chance for people to showcase their individual communities, but also raise up the commonalities that make us One Minneapolis.”

 The committee will also advise Hodges’ on her agenda for her first term. Her top priority is her education plan, which include her Cradle-to-K initiative and ideas for students in grades K-12. “I will call together people who are ready and willing to challenge ourselves to end our achievement gap and ensure all our children succeed,” Hodges said.

Mayor-elect Hodges’ 2013 Transition Advisory Committee 

(Chair) Laura Waterman Wittstock – President and CEO, Wittstock & Associates, Author

Alfred Babington-Johnson – President and CEO, Stairstep Initiative Companies

Anthony Newby – Executive Director, Neighborhoods Organizing for Change

Bill McCarthy – President, Minneapolis Regional Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO

Daniel Yang – Director of Organizing and Community Building, Native American Community Development Institute

David A. Wilson – Managing Director, Accenture Minneapolis

Frank Brown – Co-Chair, DFL African American Caucus

Greg Hestness – Assistant Vice President of Public Safety and Chief of Police, University of Minnesota

John Griffith – Executive Vice President of Property Development, Target Corporation

Julie Ristau – Co-Director, On the Commons & Co-Chair, Homegrown Minneapolis

Ken Rogers – Chair, Minneapolis Advisory Committee on People Living with Disabilities

Kyle Makarios – Director of Government Affairs, North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters

Larry Redmond – Principal, Redmond Associates, Inc.

Majdi Wadi – CEO, Holy Land

Margot Imdieke Cross – Accessibility Specialist, Minnesota State Council on Disability

Megan O’Hara – Youth Outdoor Employment Director, Wilderness Inquiry; Senior Fellow Endowed Chair, Minnesota Institute for Sustainable Agriculture

Michelle Dibblee – Organizing Director, OutFront Minnesota

Olga Viso – Director, Walker Art Center

Peter Bell – Former Chair, Metropolitan Council, Retired

Rabbi Michael Adam Latz – Senior Rabbi, Shir Tikvah

Sarah Harris – Managing Director, University of Minnesota Foundation Real Estate Advisors

Shay Berkowitz – Owner, ReGo Electric

Sheik Abdirahman Sharif – Imam, Masjid Dar Al-Hijrah

Shirley Nelson – Executive Director, Women Candidate Development Coalition

Sondra Samuels – President and CEO, Northside Achievement Zone

The Reverend Michele Morgan – Priest Associate, St. John’s Episcopal Church

Veronica Mendez – Organizer, CTUL