Hennepin County Commissioner Gail Dorfman won’t seek re-election next year

Hennepin County Commissioner Gail Dorfman announced today she won’t seek re-election in 2014.

Dorfman, best known for her work on behalf of the homeless, was first elected to the county board in 1999. She said she doesn’t have specific plans for when her term ends serving the county’s 3rd District, which includes portions of St. Louis Park and southwest Minneapolis.

Here’s the announcement she posted on her Facebook page earlier today:


One of the things I’m most proud of during my years as a Hennepin County Commissioner are the wonderful people who have worked in my office over the years who did great work at the County and then went on to excel in other areas of political and public service. From Ken Martin and Sally Miller to Cathy ten Broeke, Madeline Kastler, Kerri Pearce Ruch, Kelsey Dawson, and Anne Mavity…all incredible public servants working to make our communities better every day. I know my current principal aide Amy Stetzel will do the same.

And on January 2nd, my former policy aide Betsy Hodges will be sworn in as the next awesome Mayor of the City of Minneapolis!

With this election cycle finished soon, another election cycle is just around the corner with precinct caucuses in February. That being said, I want to announce that I will not be running for re-election in 2014 to the Hennepin County Board. I have served 23 years in elective office and have loved working with city and county staff and the community to create and implement innovative policies, help people in need, develop new projects from housing to town centers, roads and libraries, and to building healthy communities all over Hennepin County. The work we’ve done together has made a positive difference in the lives of many individuals, families and neighborhoods. 

I don’t know exactly what I’ll do after Hennepin County, but I know I’ll continue to word hard on the issues that I’ve cared most about that make our communities stronger. Thank you for your support during my years of service as Council Member and Mayor of St. Louis Park and as the 3rd District Hennepin County Commissioner.