Southwest-area races for the Minnesota House

State representatives are elected to two-year terms. State senators, meanwhile, have four year terms. The next election for state senators is 2010. To find out information about candidates in your district, go to the Minnesota Secretary of State website — www.sos.state.mn.us — and click on the “Voting and Election Information” link. Here’s a brief overview of candidates running for the House seats.

House District 60A (Covers Bryn Mawr, Lowry Hill, Lowry Hill East, East Isles, Kenwood, CIDNA, and parts of Lyndale and CARAG)

Candidates:
Margaret Anderson Kelliher (DFL), Incumbent
www.margaretandersonkelliher.org
612-377-9836

Eric Franzen (Republican)
www.franzen08.com

House District 61A (Covers most of Whittier)

Candidates:
Karen Clark (DFL), Incumbent
www.votekaren.org
612-722-7728

S. Andrew Sheppard (Republican)
www.andrewsheppard.net
sheppard@umn.edu
763-227-8106

House District 60B
(Covers West Calhoun, Linden Hills, Fulton, ECCO, East Harriet, Tangletown, and parts of CARAG, Lyndale, Kingfield and Lynnhurst)

Candidates:
Frank Hornstein (DFL), Incumbent
www.frankhornstein.org
fhornstein@msn.com
612-926-3406

Adam Martin (Republican)
www.martin08.org
adam@martin08.org
952-240-4832

House District 61B (Covers parts of Whittier, Lyndale and Kingfield)

Candidates:
Harry Grigsby (DFL)
hagrigsby@aol.com
612-823-3266

Farheen Hakeem (Green)
www.farheenhakeem.org
farheen@farheenhakeem.org
612-964-9143

Jeff Hayden (DFL)
www.jeffhayden.org
jeff@jeffhayden.org
612-501-0501

Kirsten Lindberg (Republican)
kirsten.lindberg@yahoo.com
729-1226

House District 62B (Covers parts of Windom, but most lies in South Minneapolis on the other side of I-35W)

Candidates:
Jean Wagenius (DFL), Incumbent
www.jeanwagenius.org
jean@jeanwagenius.org
612-822-3347

House District 63A

(Covers Armatage, Kenny and parts of Lynnhurst and Windom)

Candidates:
Paul Thissen (DFL), Incumbent
www.thissenformn.com
pthissen@briggs.com
612-824-6697

Rene Ramirez (Republican)
renein08.com
rene@renein08.com
987-7066

Special election – Incumbent Dan Larson (DFL) has stepped down

Senate District 63

(Covers Armatage, Kenny and parts of Lynnhurst and Windom, as well as Richfield and part of Bloomington)

Candidates:
Ken Kelash (DFL)
kelash.org
ken@kelash.org
715-3908

Craig Marston (Republican)
www.marstonforsenate.com
themarstons@mns.com
869-1352