Minneapolis libraries merge with county system

The merger of Minneapolis’ 15 public libraries with the 26-library Hennepin County system became official at the start of 2008.

The new system will be called Hennepin County Library and will offer more streamlined services to all Hennepin County residents, according to a news release about the merger. It will boast 5 million books, CDs and DVDs, and nearly 1,600 public computers.

Roosevelt, Southeast and Webber Park libraries, which are currently closed, will reopen Jan. 3. Their hours will be noon-8 p.m. Tuesday and Thursday and 10 a.m.-6 p.m. Saturday. The three libraries will host community celebrations Jan. 12 with elected officials speaking at Roosevelt at 10 a.m., Southeast at noon and Weber Park at 2 p.m.

A few things for library users to keep in mind:

– Your current library card will work at all libraries in the new system.
– Fines stay the same for now.
– Both library catalogs and websites are active and linked.
– Services, programs and websites will all be unified eventually.