McLaughlin tops Rybak, but no DFL mayoral endorsement

Get ready for at least four more months of R.T. Rybak versus Peter McLaughlin.

Rybak failed to knock McLaughlin out of the 2005 mayor's race as the 1,963 DFL delegates made no endorsement May 12. McLaughlin, who pledged to bow out if Rybak were endorsed, instead led on all five ballots. However, McLaughlin's 52.8 percent support on the final ballot fell short of the 60 percent endorsement requirement.

Both candidates will proceed to the Sept. 13 primary, where they will face Green Party nominee Farheen Hakeem and DFL candidate Dick Franson. Other candidates may emerge before the July 19 filing deadline.

In other races affecting Southwest:

  • Park Board At-Large. Delegates endorsed former Park Board Supt. Mary Merrill Anderson for one of three citywide seats. Anderson was the only candidate endorsed on the first ballot. Tom Nordyke of Cedar-Isles-Dean was also endorsed, but the party did not anoint a third candidate, spurning incumbent Rochelle Berry Graves, West Calhoun resident Meg Forney, Linden Hills Co-op Manager Paula Gilbertson and John Lilly.

    Berry Graves says she's still running; Forney, Gilbertson and Lilly said they haven't decided. Gilbertson said she's checking to see if the DFL's Central Committee can endorse a third candidate if delegates decline.

  • Southwest Park Districts. East Calhoun's Tracy Nordstrom won the District 4 endorsement over Christine Hansen of Kenwood. Hansen says she will keep running. In District 6, which covers Southwest mostly south of Lake Street, delegates declined to endorse incumbent Bob Fine of Linden Hills or challenger Jim Bernstein of Fulton. Both will run in the primary.

  • Library Board. Delegates endorsed Sheldon Mains, Alan Hooker and incumbent Laura Waterman Wittstock on the first ballot. (Wittstock, a mayoral appointee, is seeking election this year). On the second ballot, Wedge resident Gary Thaden and incumbents Rod Krueger and Linden Hills resident Laurie Savran received endorsement to fill out the six-candidate slate.

  • Board of Estimate and Taxation. Delegates endorsed newcomers Jill Schwimmer of Kingfield and Carol Becker over 30-year board incumbent Gordon Nelson. The board sets the maximum annual property tax levies that bind the city, Park Board and Library Board.

    Delegates also elected David Weinlick of Armatage as the new Minneapolis DFL chair.