School Board: Lee, Flanagan, Henry-Blythe

Lydia Lee, Peggy Flanagan and incumbent Sharon Henry-Blythe claimed three Minneapolis School Board seats Nov. 2, topping Sandra Miller, David Dayhoff and incumbent Dennis Schapiro.

Lee, of East Calhoun, and Flanagan, a North Sider, won their first political races. Both were endorsed by the city's DFL party and organized labor.

Lee, who retired as a Minneapolis schools employee in June, said, "The DFL nomination was extremely important to my victory. This is still a DFL town and people vote along party lines."

The DFL only endorsed two candidates for three seats, rejecting the incumbents, Linden Hills resident Schapiro and Henry-Blythe. Henry Blythe won the final seat despite presiding over a board criticized for an abortive school-closing plan and teacher realignment.

The current board is expected to approve a closing plan Nov. 30. New board members are inaugurated in early January