Stevens Square elects new board members, sets behavior standards

The Stevens Square Community Organization (SSCO) elected Greg Scanlan as its new board chair at its June 28 meeting. Scanlan, who will serve a one-year term, replaces Gene Blackledge who served three one-year terms and was ineligible to run for reelection.

Other officers include Vice-Chair Ken Strobel, Treasurer Keith Twist and Secretary Rita Lavin.

Michelle Crumly, Diane Hansen, Lizbeth Wawrzonek, Zachary Korb and Dee Tvedt were also reelected to the board. Several board positions are vacant, and current board members will fill them by appointment.

SSCO also approved their community standards guidelines, the result of a neighborhood survey. Recommended behaviors include getting to know your neighbors and participating in community activities. Other activities deemed inappropriate included public drunkenness, prostitution and outdoor drug dealing.

Out-going board members were given T-shirts containing what might become the neighborhood motto: "We may be small, but we’re dense."