Sixteen file for three school board seats

The Minneapolis School District may be losing students, but there is no shortage of candidates who want to lead the district.

By the July 20 filing deadline, 16 people had announced their campaigns for the three School Board seats up for grabs in the Nov. 2 general election.

Candidates include incumbents Denny Schapiro of Linden Hills and Sharon Henry-Blythe. Fellow incumbent Ross Taylor had previously announced his retirement.

Also filing were Southwest residents Doug Mann of Kingfield, Tangletown's David Dayhoff and Linden Hills' Lydia Lee.

The field also includes Lucky Rosenbloom, Rahn V. Workcuff, Mohamed Jibrell, Peggy Flanagan, John Starway, Ray Roybal, John T. Uldrich, Sandra Miller, David Donnelly, Jack Chisholm and Erik Nelson.

In 2002, Rosenbloom and Mann were among the eight finalists for four School Board seats. This time around, Schapiro, Lee and Flanagan are endorsed by the DFL Party and Dayhoff by the Republicans. The Minneapolis Green Party did not endorse any School Board candidates at its June convention.

The primary election is Sept. 14. The top six vote-getters make it to the general election, and the three winners will serve four-year terms on the seven-member School Board, beginning in January 2005.