The Weekend Tourist // A New Years wellness resolution

Many of us make fitness goals at the New Year, but what about stress and anxiety, multi-tasking overload, carpal tunnel thumbs? Sometimes we just need to slow down and take a break for a little while. Luckily, for us who live or work in northeast, southwest or downtown Minneapolis there are plenty of options. Yoga and meditation centers are prevalent. And many companies these days are offering Wellness Programs to keep their employees healthy and their minds in prime working order.

I know I can use more relaxation. So after work a few weeks ago I got talked into going to a meditation center with my biker friend “the Percolator” who could use more down time himself. The evening began with a relaxation meditation. Lying flat on our backs with eyes closed, we listened to the instructor’s calm, soothing voice. The Perc fell asleep in seconds. I gently nudged him awake when the yoga started and he acted like nothing happened. Then we did very simple poses that would be easy for anyone, of any age. The instructor was welcoming to newcomers and made positions easy to follow. Then we closed the evening with another relaxation meditation. My long week caught up with me and I was out like a light. I’ve promised to go back, but after coffee next time.

Here are a few resources for your wellness search.

Spas
Massages aren’t just an indulgence. Today even the Mayo Clinic recommends them for help with pain, stress relief, blood pressure control, boosting immune systems and healing injuries to muscles, tendons and ligaments. Many of these spas also offer manicures, pedicures, facials, Chakra balancing, foot reflexology and skin care body wraps.

Aveda Institute // avedaservices.com/mn

Lifetime Spa and Salon‎ // lifetimefitness.mylt.com

Sabai Body Temple‎ // sabaibodytemple.com

Massage Envy Spa‎ // massageenvy.com‎

Zen Buddhist centers

Minneapolis has several Zen Buddhist centers where participants learn, and practice, bringing the ancient wisdom into their daily lives. Public meditations, classes, lectures and dinners make these gathering places active.

Minnesota Zen Meditation Center // mnzencenter.org

Shambhala Meditation Center // shambhala-mn.org

Diamond Way Buddhist Center // diamondway.org/minneapolis

Compassionate Ocean Dharma Center // oceandharma.org

Dharma Field Zen Center‎ // dharmafield.org

The Meditation Center // themeditationcenter.org

Tergar Meditation Community // tergar.org/minneapolis

Tai Chi
Tai Chi focuses the mind on very slow body movements and brings a state of mental calm and clarity to its participants. Classes are offered for groups, individuals or families.

Tilopa Tai Chi Qigong Center // itaichi.net

Natural Step Tai Chi // naturalsteptaichi.com

Tai Chi Chuan Great River‎ // greatriver.blogspot.com

Yoga
If you don’t know if there’s a yoga studio in your immediate neighborhood, you need to look up from the sidewalk more often. It seems there’s a yoga studio at nearly every intersection. Through holding various poses, yoga calms the mind, energizes the body and strengthens muscles and flexibility.

CorePower Yoga // corepoweryoga.com

Yoga Center of Minneapolis // yogacentermpls.com

LifePower Yoga // lifepoweryoga.com

Moksha Yoga // minneapolis.mokshayoga.ca

One Yoga Studio // one-yoga.org

BKS Iyengar Yoga Center // iyengaryogampls.com

Bikram’s Yoga College of India // bikramyoga.com

The Om Collective // theomcollective.com

Sigh Yoga‎ // sighyoga.com

Yoga Lift Center // yogalift.com‎

Yoga Santosha‎ // yogasantosha.com‎

Invisible Bee Yoga Studio‎ // invisiblebeeyoga.com‎

Devanadi Yoga‎ // devanadiyoga.com‎

To your health — Happy New Year!

Send your wellness suggestions to WeekendTourist@mnpubs.com.