About Us

Janis Hall and Terry Gahan launched the newspaper in early 1990 in their Linden Hills home, brainstorming ideas with a small news team at their kitchen table.

Their company Minnesota Premier Publications has expanded to include The Journal serving downtown and Northeast Minneapolis, Minnesota Parent and Minnesota Good Age. The newspaper has won many awards over the years, including the coveted Frank Premack Public Affairs Journalism Award and several honors from the Minnesota Society of Professional Journalists and the Minnesota Newspaper Association. The newspaper’s offices are at 1115 Hennepin Avenue in downtown Minneapolis.

 

Meet Our Staff

Publisher: Janis Hall / jhall@swjournal.com
Janis_Hall_crop

Janis and Terry started the Southwest Journal in 1990 in their basement, never dreaming that the business would grow to include four publications. They have a wonderful staff and take great pride in providing outstanding news and information coverage for the their readers. Janis is also an old-house nut with the 1916 Arts & Crafts home to prove it. She shares the house with husband Terry, two field spaniels named Django and Emmet, and large piles of reading material.

 

Co-publisher & Sales Manager: Terry Gahan / tgahan@swjournal.com
Terry_Gahan_crop

Terry Gahan likes the newspaper business and the fun that comes with working with business and community leaders who recognize the Journals’ contribution to the community. He also enjoys spending time with his family, working out and playing music.

 

 

Editor: Dylan Thomas / dthomas@swjournal.com
DylanThomas

Dylan Thomas is editor for The Journal and Southwest Journal. He started at the papers in 2007 and covers schools, the arts, environmental news and Southwest Minneapolis neighborhoods. Dylan is an alumnus of the University of Minnesota, where he did his first reporting for the Minnesota Daily, and before joining the Journals was a staff writer for his hometown newspaper, the Mankato Free Press. Dylan and his wife, Nicky, live in south Minneapolis with their son, River.

 

Staff Writer: Michelle Bruch / mbruch@swjournal.com
Michelle

Michelle covers general news and all the business buzz in Southwest Minneapolis. She graduated from UW-Madison and worked at a Chicago-area newspaper chain before joining the Journals in 2006. She lives with her husband Matt and two wild little boys.

 

 

Staff Writer: Eric Best / ebest@swjournal.com
Best,Eric

Eric covers downtown and Northeast Minneapolis neighborhoods and the Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board. He joined the Journals in 2014 and focuses on business news, development, neighborhood issues and lifestyle features. He is a recent graduate of the University of Minnesota where he served as an editor of the Minnesota Daily. He lives in the Marcy-Holmes neighborhood.

 

 

Staff Writer: Nate Gotlieb / ngotlieb@swjournal.com

Nate covers Minneapolis Public Schools, environmental and sustainability news and neighborhoods in Southwest Minneapolis. He worked for the Mankato Free Press and FOX Sports North before joining the Journals in fall 2016. Nate is a University of Minnesota graduate and a passionate Minnesota sports fan.

 

 

Creative Director: Sarah Karnas / skarnas@swjournal.com

SarahK Sarah uses her experience in strategic communications and graphic design to lead our production team on the creation of client advertisements and the layout of our four publications. She is an alumna of the University of St. Thomas. Prior to joining Minnesota Premier Publications, she spent ten years as the creative director for the environmental institute at the University of Minnesota — managing branding and marketing, crafting promotional materials and designing an independent magazine. In her spare time she enjoys walking the chain of lakes, frequenting local restaurants, taking photos and drinking lots of coffee. She lives in her childhood home in the Kenny neighborhood of Southwest Minneapolis with her sports-obsessed husband, their two busy boys, a raccoon-sized cat and a teeny tiny dog.

 

 

 

Client Services & Office Administrator: Delaney Patterson / dpatterson@swjournal.com

Delaney likes that Minnesota Premier Publications places her at the heart of the Minneapolis community. Around the office, she plays Jane-of-many-trades. Outside business hours, find her flowing through a Chaturanga, admiring Earth’s natural environment, or working up the motivation to try a new recipe.

 

 

 

Senior Graphic Designer: Valerie Moe / vmoe@swjournal.com

Moe,Valerie_350x350_1Valerie Moe grew up in Mankato, moved to the Twin Cities in 2001 for college, and then never left. While attending The Art Institutes International Minnesota, she worked at TGI Friday’s — which is where she met her wonderful husband. Now they live in Bloomington with their three children. They love being outside, whether it’s camping in the pop-up, playing at the park, biking around the neighborhood or taking a walk with the stroller.

 

 

Graphic Designer: Danielle Cunningham / dcunningham@swjournal.com

Amanda Wadeson designs pages and advertisements. She also serves as the internship coordinator for the design team. She grew up on a farm in southeastern North Dakota and attended Minnesota State University Moorhead. After graduating in 2010 with a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in Graphic Design, she moved to the Twin Cities to see what else the world had to offer. When not at work she tries to find the time to travel, host dinner parties, dig around in my garden and work on a variety of craft projects. 

 

Distribution Manager: Marlo Johnson / distribution@swjournal.com
Marlo_Johnson_1

Marlo Johnson leads a force of 60 carriers and drivers to ensure timely and accurate distribution of our publications. He was born and raised in Minneapolis and graduated from the University of Minnesota. He came to Minnesota Premier Publications after working with national newsstand magazines for a number of years.